link to homepage

The Dalrymple Lecture Series

The Dalrymple Lecture series in the UM Department of Mathematics was endowed by Mr. and Mrs. Arch Dalrymple II of Amory. It brings distinguished speakers to discuss mathematics and mathematics research. Arch Dalrymple attended Cornell University, Amherst College and UM, where he earned a bachelor's degree in 1947.

The lecture series has brought several known mathematicians to the University. The following is a list of the Dalrymple Lecturers:

1989: Wilhelmus A.J. Luxemburg

1990: Richard H. Schelp, University of Memphis

1991: Joseph Diestel, Kent State University

1992: R. Daniel Mauldin, University of North Texas

1993: Leonard Gillman

1994: Paul R. Halmos, Santa Clara University

1995: Dominic Welsh, University of Oxford

1996: Carl Pomerance, Dartmouth College

2000: Raymond Smullyan

2001: Douglas Hofstadter, Indiana University

2002: Robin Thomas, Georgia Tech

2006: Keith Devlin, Stanford University

2007: Tony DeRose, Pixar Animation Studios

2008: Andrew Odlyzko, University of Minnesota (abstract photo1 photo2 photo3)

2009: Michal Karonski, Emory University (abstract)

2010: James G. Oxley, Louisiana State University (abstract photo1 photo2 photo3 photo4 photo5 photo6)

2012: Slawomir Solecki, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (abstract)