Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Biography: Rich Forgette

Interim Dean of the College of Liberal Arts

Rich Forgette

Rich Forgette is the Interim Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Professor of Political Science at the University of Mississippi.  Previously, he was Department Chair of Political Science from 2003-2011. From 1991-2003, Rich was an Assistant and Associate Professor of Political Science at Miami University (Oxford, Ohio). He also served as the American Political Science Association’s Steiger Congressional Fellow in 1996-97 working in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.

Professor Forgette’s research and teaching fields are in the study of legislatures, legislative elections, and public policy.  He is the author of numerous books and journal articles on Congress, legislative parties, legislative elections, voting rights, redistricting, public policy, and budgeting.  His research has been funded by the National Science Foundation and Department of Homeland Security.  Professor Forgette led interdisciplinary research teams assessing disaster recovery and relief after Hurricane Katrina, as well as a creating measures and models of community resilience to withstand large-scale disasters.

Dr. Forgette has a B.A. from Pennsylvania State University, an M.A. degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, an M.S. in Public Policy Analysis and Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Rochester.

Reporting to the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts are 18 degree-granting departments, three ROTC units, three centers, and several programs:

Departments in the College of Liberal Arts

Three ROTC Units

Other Units in the College of Liberal Arts