Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Chancellor's Standing Committees

Acad. Freedom & Faculty Responsibility

One of the primary duties of this committee is to conduct hearings, when such are required in cases involving the dismissal or termination of tenured faculty, the non-renewal of a contract for a non-tenured faculty member when there is a substantial claim that such action violates academic freedom or equal employment rights, or the dismissal of a non- tenured faculty member prior to the expiration of a term appointment. The initial investigation will be conducted by the Tenure/Promotion Appeals Committee. If after that investigation, the faculty member involved requests a full hearing, that hearing will be conducted by the Committee on Academic Freedom and Faculty Responsibility. In addition to its responsibilities as a hearing body, this committee is empowered to initiate and consider matters pertaining to academic freedom and faculty responsibility at The University of Mississippi campus. This committee is composed of tenured professorial faculty members who are not serving as a department chair and do not hold an administrative rank higher than department chair. The elections for this committee are conducted by and under the auspices of the Senate of the Faculty among the tenured faculty members of the respective units. Individuals may not serve on a Dean's Advisory Committee, the Tenure and Promotion Review Committee, or the Tenure and Promotion Appeals Committee while serving on the Academic Freedom and Faculty Responsibility Committee. Individuals from the same department as the appellant shall excuse themselves from the consideration of that appeal. Procedures for the Academic Freedom and Faculty Responsibility Committee are contained in the online policy directory.

The composition of the committee is as follows: