Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Chancellor's Standing Committees

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council has broad responsibility for advising on all graduate academic policies and activities of the University on its Oxford campus and satellite campus locations (excluding the Medical Center). This includes the consideration of new degree programs, formulation and refinement of graduate regulations, consideration of all graduate and Law courses for approval and decisions on petitions from students who are requesting waivers of campus-wide (as opposed to departmental or school) graduate degree requirements. Recommendations from the Graduate Council and minutes of its meetings are forwarded to the Chancellor, with copies to the Provost and Council of Academic Administrators. The faculty representatives on this committee are tenured professorial faculty.

The composition of the committee is as follows: