Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Chancellor's Standing Committees

General Education

The General Education Committee holds the broad responsibility of leading the university in fulfilling its general education mission for all undergraduate degrees at the university. The committee makes recommendations to the Provost and the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and appropriate academic units regarding the philosophy of general education, as well as policy, learning outcomes, curriculum, assessment, and continual improvement of general education. The committee will lead the campus in exploring, debating, and defining the values and the proper role of general education in fostering well-rounded educational experiences consistent with the function of a public research university.

The composition of the committee is as follows: