[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Minutes of the Meeting of the Faculty of the Senate,

January 10, 1997

Chair, Faye Gilbert, called the Faculty Senate to order at 2:05 p.m., January 10, 1997, in Conner 123.


Billy Barrios, Kim Beason, Anne Bomba, Felice Coles, Sumali Conlon, Robert Cook, H.C. Cunningham, Bob Dorsey, Maurice Eftink, Ann Fisher-Wirth, Faye Gilbert, David Graves, Jay K. Johnson, John Johnson, Fred Laurenzo, Dave Nichols, Stacy Rodgers, Harry Owens, Shyam Prasad, Daniel Schlenk, Ed Sisson, Ed Sisson, JoAnn Stefani, Warren Steel, Peter Sukanek, Kirk Wakefield, Clint Williford, John Winkle


Ben Banahan, Carol Dale, Sophia Gray, Robert Haws, Tim Hall Stacy Holmes, Glenn Hopkins, Edward Komara, Fannye Love, Phil Malone, Tom Marshall, R. McLaughlin, Marilyn Mendolia, Ted Ownby, James Payne, Bill Rayburn, Jim Reidy, Natalie Schroeder, William Scott, Paula Temple, Bryn Vaaler, Mark Wilder, Christy Wyandt.

Prior Notification of Absence Given:

Don Cheek, Jean Cheek, Sharon Schreiber, T.J. Ray, Julie Walton, Robert Westmoreland

ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIR: Proposed by-laws changes on representation from Liberal Arts were announced as described in the agenda for the January meeting. They will be considered for adoption at the February meeting.

PRESENTATION OF THE SESQUICENTENNIAL GOALS AND ACTIVITIES: Drs. Gloria Kellum and Brian Reithel, the Executive Director and Co-Chair respectively for the Sesquicentennial, gave an extensive presentation on Sesquicentennial goals.

We are just past the midpoint of the Sesquicentennial. This celebration was really the brainchild of former Chancellor Turner and Chancellor Khayat in 1993. It was decide at the time to have a four year sequence of celebrations. This has allowed the recognition of each academic unit. There are three purposes to the celebration. First, it celebrates academic accomplishment, increasing awareness and connecting with our constituencies. Second, it allows the academic units to plan for the next century in terms of goals, such as the "computer on every desk" project, and to define the resources to needed to meet those goals. Third, it ties in with the capital campaign to raise support. We are already raising funds. We think we will have a successful campaign, substantially increasing the endowment.

Drs. Kellum and Reithel then presented a time line for the sesquicentennial celebration.


Faculty brainstorming; computer on every desk proposal developed; legislative support; campus network.


Champions proposals; Law and Dentistry celebrations; recycling program.


Medical Center, Engineering, and Education, celebrations; Phi Beta Kappa Challenge and planning; draft of case statements for Capital Gifts Campaign based on Excellence 21 Proposals (proposals based on departmental needs); campus backbone to residence halls completed.


Continued Phi Beta Kappa planning; presented draft case statement for Capital Gifts Campaign to UM Foundation Board of Directors; Office of Research seeks sources of Excellence Proposals; Accountancy and Business Administration celebrations; Phi Beta Kappa representatives to meet with the executive Committee UM Foundation Board of Directors.


Capital Gifts Campaign continues; Pharmacy, Nursing, Medicine, and Graduate School celebrations.


Sesquicentennial Convocation and public announcements of Capital Gifts Campaign.

Gloria Kellum discussed the case statement for the Capital Campaign. It is based on the Excellence 21 proposals and Phi Beta Kappa initiatives and serves as a statement of visions and goals.

Vision: provide private support that will assure academic excellence at the University of Mississippi.

Specific Goals:

1. Library holdings - $4 million over five years

2. Ensuring Academic Preeminence - endowments to support faculty salaries, Barnard Professorships, new chairs, annual competitive academic pool, departmental excellence, classroom and lab improvements, faculty development, and teaching excellence.

3. Attract Exceptional Students - $40 million endowment for undergraduate scholarships, student enrichment activity scholarships, graduate fellowships and scholarships, medical center scholarships.

4. Honors College - build an additional $6 million endowment over the next five years.

5. Provide and sustain competitive information technology infrastructure - short term: $1 million to equip large classrooms with appropriate technology and $2 million to establish additional learning facilities; continuing needs, $10 million endowment for faculty and staff skill development, student collaborative technology, annual upgrades.

6. Cultivate the Cultural Environment - short term: $20 million (in addition to state funds) for construction of Performing Arts Center; long term: $2 million endowment to operate and administer the center.

Regarding raising of funds, giving has increased strongly from $12.6 million in 1992 to $25.3 million in 1996. Proposals energize giving. The endowment was $85.1 million by June, 1992, $114.3 million by June 1995, and $137 million by June 1996. There is an important role for faculty to be involved for development of proposals and identifying donors.

The Southern Association of College and Schools will start the reaccreditation process. Gaye Hayfield and Jim Nichols will coordinate the reaccreditation efforts.

AMENDMENT TO THE MOTION ON REVIEW OF ACADEMIC ADMINISTRATORS:There was a motion presented by the Faculty Governance Committee of the Senate. This amendment represented a compromise in response to comments/concerns by the academic Council and Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Specifically, the amendment addressed concerns over the dissemination of information, on administrators, that would be considered a personnel matter. One sentence was deleted from the original motion, "This report and explanation will be made available to the faculty upon request." See the bottom of the second page of the Agenda. The motion was seconded and passed by voice vote.

OLD BUSINESS: Correction to November minutes - change reference to Information Technology title to "Associate" Vice Chancellor. The minutes, as amended, for November 1996 were approved.

Chair Faye Gilbert adjourned the meeting at approximately 3:30 p.m.