[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Minutes of the Meeting of the Senate of the Faculty
Thursday, September 12, 2002, 7:00 p.m., Room 113 Conner Hall

Meeting called to order with a quorum at 7 p.m.

Present: Milam Aiken, Donna Adler, Nancy Bercaw, Charles Brower, Rick Elam, Gail Herrera, Ahmed Kishk, Fred Laurenzo, Phil Malone, Amy E. Mark, Jeanette Martin, Clifford Ochs, Anne Quinney, Robert Riggs, David Rock, John Schetz, Bobbie Smothers, Warren Steel, Ken Sufka, Mark Tew, Joseph Urgo, Charles West, Nancy Wiggers, Dawn Wilkins, Susan Wolcott

Absent: Edmund Acevedo*, Aileen Ajootian, Brahram Alidaee*, Julie Aubrey*, Bonnie Avery, Deborah Barker, John Bentley* Luca Bombelli*, Wei-Yin Chen, Laurie Cozad, John Czarnetzky, Steven Davis*, Kirsten Dellinger*, Charles Eagles, Jennifer Ford*, K.P. George, Kathy Knight*, Rosemary Oliphant-Ingham*, James Reid*, Charles Ross, Annette Trefzer*, Marilyn Zarzeski*

I. Old Business
The minutes of the May 9, 2002 meeting were approved with out dissent

II. Announcements
A. American Association of Univeristy Professors (AAUP)
see http://www.aaup.org/, Senator Susan Walcott
The AAUP is trying to increase membership in Mississippi; no active chapter at UM. Statewide meeting for AAUP November 19, 2002 in Jackson, MS. Informational meeting on Thursday, September 26, 2002 7:15 p.m. in Conner 113 led by Christopher Hanes.

B. Department of Economics
The Senate agreed that that the Department of Economics be moved to Liberal Arts III. Chair Adler will draft a document to update the Constitution and Bylaws, slated for the October meeting.

C. Council of Academic Administrators: nothing to report; September 2002 meeting canceled.

D. Nominations for the Senate representatives to serve on the Athletic Standing Committee:
Senator Rick Elam nominated by Senator Sufka, Senator Malone second
Senator Elam elected to the Athletic Standing Committee without dissent.

E. Discussion: proposal to change the Constitution and Bylaws to provide more continuity in leadership for the Senate of the faculty.

Comments from the Senate on Possible Solutions

F. Faculty Governance Committee: draft policy for periodic reviews of administrators, new chair: Senator Joe Urgo
Chair Adler requests that Senators research and share policies from other schools with the Governance committee.

G. Academic Affairs Committee report on status of pre-tenure leave policy issue, new chair: Senator Nancy Bercaw.

Comments from the Senate on Possible Solutions

H. Report from the USAF, Chair Donna Adler
USAF would like a suggestion from this body re: a policy/precedure for searches for university Presidents/Chancellor to be submitted to the IHL. A committee may be appointed some time in the future. Chair Adler requests that Senators research and share policies from other schools with her to send to the USAF.

I. Chancellor will be invited to the Senate for the October meeting by the approval of the Senate. Any questions/issues that Senators would like him to address, please contact Chair Adler.

J. Honor's College search committee: list of members available from Chair Donna Adler or Senator Joe Urgo.

Meeting Ajourned at 8:07 p.m.

Back to Faculty Senate Homepage