Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.


vCard icon QR Code icon
Joined UM: December 31, 1969

Brief Bio

Atef Z. Elsherbeni received his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Manitoba University, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, in 1987. He joined the University of Mississippi in August 1987 as an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering. He advanced to the Associate Professor rank on July 1991, and to the Professor rank on July 1997. At the University of Mississippi, he was also the director of the School of Engineering CAD Lab from August 2002 to August 2013, the director of the Center for Applied Electromagnetic Systems Research (CAESR) from July 2011 to August 2013, and the Associate Dean of Engineering for Research and Graduate Programs from 2009 to 2013. He was appointed as Adjunct Professor, at The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science at Syracuse University on January 2004. He spent a sabbatical term in 1996 at the Electrical Engineering Department, University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) and was a visiting Professor at Magdeburg University, in Germany during the summer of 2005 and at Tampere University of Technology in Finland during the summer of 2007. He was a Finland Distinguished Professor from 2009 to 2011. Dr. Elsherbeni became the Dobelman Distinguished Chair and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Colorado School of Mines in August 2013. He is a Fellow member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and a fellow member of The Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society (ACES) and the Editor-in-Chief for ACES Journal.


Electrical Engineering
Cairo University (1976)
Cairo University (1979)
Engineering Science
Cairo University (1979)
Electrical Engineering
University of Manitoba (1987)


School of Engineering Outstanding Teacher of the Year
School of Engineering, Faculty Service Award
School of Engineering, Senior Faculty Research Award
School of Engineering, Senior Faculty Research Award
Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award