Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Faculty Profile

BEN Griffith

Profile Photo
Adjunct Professor of Law
vCard icon QR Code icon
000 Khayat Law Center
University, MS 38677
(662) 915-7361
Joined UM: August 20, 2020

Brief Bio

Benjamin E. Griffith is adjunct professor for the Election Law course. He earned his J.D. from the Ole Miss School of Law in 1975 and is principal of Griffith Law Firm of Oxford, Mississippi. He is engaged in a full time federal civil practice focusing on defense of local governments in election law, voting rights and civil rights litigation in the Fourth, Fifth and Eleventh Circuits, insurance defense throughout the mid-south and environmental law related to his service as board attorney for the 17- county YMD Joint Water Management District. He has been invited to speak at over 110 CLE seminars and international conferences on election law, government access and electoral transparency and has authored and served as editor for numerous publications in his area of expertise, including all three editions of America Votes! Challenges to Modern Election Law & Voting Rights (ABA 2008, 2012, 2016) and contributed chapters to International Election Principles (ABA 2010) and International Election Remedies (ABA 2017). He serves on the ABA Board of Governors and chairs the International Steering Committee of the International Municipal Lawyers Association, and is a IMLA Local Government Fellow, Lifetime Fellow in the American Bar Foundation and the Mississippi Bar Foundation. He serves as President of the William C. Keady Chapter of American Inns of Court, President of the Ole Miss Law Alumni Board, member of the ABA House of Delegates since 2009, is past Chair of the Government Law Section of the Mississippi Bar, past Chair of the Mississippi Association of County Board Attorneys and past President of the National Association of County Civil Attorneys. Since 1994 he has been board certified in Civil Trial Advocacy by the ABA-accredited National Board of Trial Advocacy and has been recognized by his peers with inclusion in Best Lawyers in America and Mid South Super Lawyers in the field of Municipal Law each year since 2007.


The University of Mississippi (1975)
Cleveland Central High School (1975)