Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Faculty Profile

Conor M Dowling

Political Science
Professor of Political Science
vCard icon QR Code icon
235 Deupree Hall
University, MS 38677
(662) 915-5673
Joined UM: August 16, 2012

Brief Bio

Conor M. Dowling is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Mississippi. Dr. Dowling received his Ph.D. from Binghamton University (SUNY) in 2008. Following four years as a postdoctoral research associate at Yale University, he joined the Department of Political Science at the University of Mississippi in Fall 2012. His research and teaching interests are in American Politics, where he studies both mass and elite political behavior with a substantive focus on issues of electoral competition, representation, and public policy, campaign finance law and health policy in particular. He is the co-author of Super PAC! Money, Elections and Voters After Citizens United (with Michael G. Miller, Routledge Press, 2014), Unhealthy Politics: The Battle over Evidence-Based Medicine (with Eric M. Patashnik and Alan S. Gerber, Princeton University Press, 2017), which received the Don K. Price Book Award for best book on science, technology and politics from the American Political Science Association and the Louis Brownlow Book Award from the National Academy of Public Administration, and more than 30 articles published in peer-reviewed journals.


Political Science
James Madison University (2003)
Political Science
Binghamton University (SUNY) (2006)
Political Science
Binghamton University (SUNY) (2008)

Committee Memberships

University Standing Committee
University Standing Committee


Sanford and Susan Thomas Senior Professor Research Award in Social Sciences