Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.


vCard icon QR Code icon
Joined UM: December 31, 1969

Brief Bio

P. Raju Mantena is Professor of Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Mantena received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Idaho in 1989. His research interests are in optimizing the dynamic and impact properties of composites, advanced grid-stiffened structures, nano-reinforced materials, structural foams and nondestructive evaluation. He has been a PI/Co-PI on over five million dollars of research projects from NSF, NASA, USDA, ONR, DHS, EPRI, AOC, Allied Signal and Dow Automotive. Dr. Mantena is active with the American Society for Composites (ASC) and American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He organized several national and international symposiums and served as Chair of Materials Characterization Technical Committee for ASME-Noise Control and Acoustics Division, and Chair of Fastening and Joining Technical Committee for ASME-Design Engineering Division. Dr. Mantena teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in Kinematics, Dynamics of Machinery, Engineering Mechanics, Vibrations, Mechanics of Composite Materials and Experimental Stress Analysis. As Faculty Advisor for the ASME Student Chapter, and in recognition of his leadership in mentoring and guiding the University of Mississippi Student Section, Dr. Mantena was awarded the 2001 ASME International Jack A. Shortall Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award. He received the University of Mississippi - School of Engineering 2007 Faculty Service Award; and is also a three-time recipient of Outstanding Mechanical Engineering Teacher.


Mechanical Engineering
Andhra University (1973)
Mechanical Engineering
University of Idaho (1985)
Mechanical Engineering
University of Idaho (1989)


School of Engineering, Faculty Service Award
School of Engineering, Senior Faculty Research Award