Atmospheric Physics Research 

  Group Members
Dr. Marshall 
Dr. Stolzenburg 
  Contact Information

Thunderstorm electricity is the main focus for the Atmospheric Physics Group.

View of a storm from Langmuir Lab

We investigate atmospheric electricity problems primarily through observational methods.  In collaboration with scientists from other institutions and laboratories, we launch instrumented balloons into storms.

Members of the Atmospheric Physics Group at the University of Mississippi:
    Dr. Thomas C. Marshall   Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy
    Dr. Maribeth Stolzenburg   Research Associate Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy
    Dr. W. David Rust   Adjunct Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy; Scientist & Chief of
          Mesoscale Research and Applications Division, NOAA/ERL/ National Severe Storms Laboratory

Contact Information:

US & Express Mail Address:
 Dept of Physics & Astronomy 
 University of Mississippi 
 Lewis Hall, Rm 108 
 University, MS 38677-1848
Telephone numbers:
 Marshall - (662) 915-5325
 Stolzenburg - (662) 915-5252
 Rust - (405) 366-0404
E-mail addresses:
 marshall <at>
 mstolzen <at>
 Dave.Rust <at> 

<Areas of Research>   <List of Publications>   <Curriculum Vitae>    <Modes of Research>   <Photo Gallery>
<Lightning Safety>
<Department of Physics and Astronomy>    <Physics and Astronomy Buildings & History>    <Ole Miss Home>

Please address comments on this page to Maribeth Stolzenburg (mstolzen <at>
Last updated 1 July 2009.
 Copyright© 2009 The University of Mississippi. All rights reserved.