[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Minutes of the Meeting of the Senate of the Faculty
Thursday, January 16, 2003, 7:00 p.m., Room 108, Law School

Meeting called to order with a quorum at 7:00 p.m.

Present: Edmund Acevedo, Donna Adler, Aileen Ajootian, John Bentley, Nancy Bercaw, Luca Bombelli, Judith Cassidy, Wei-Yin Chen, Daisy Cheng, Laurie Cozad, Gregg Davidson, Michelle Emanuel, Matthew Hall, Amy E. Mark, Clifford Ochs, Michael Ponton, Anne Quinney, James Reid, David Rock, Bobbie Smothers, Warren Steel, Ken Sufka, Diane Tidwell, Charles West, Nancy Wiggers, Dawn Wilkins

Absent: Milam Aiken*, Brahram Alidaee, Julie Aubrey, Bonnie Avery, Deborah Barker*, Victoria Bush*, Steven Davis, Kirsten Dellinger*, Rick Elam*, Kris Gilliland*, Ahmed Kishk, Charles Ross, John Schetz, Annette Trefzer*, Joseph Urgo*
* Prior notification

I. Old Business
A. Minutes
of the December 5, 2002 Senate meeting were approved without dissent.

II. Election of Officers
A. Election of Chair
David Rock nominated by Senator Mark/2nd Senator Wilkins; Senator David Rock elected by acclamation.
B. Election of Chair-Elect
Edmund Acevedo nominated by Senator Adler/2nd Senator Ochs; Senator Edmund Acevedo elected by acclamation.
C. Election of Secretary/Treasurer
Amy E. Mark nominated by Senator Adler/2nd Senator Sufka; Senator Amy E. Mark elected by acclamation.

III. Announcements
Proposal from Office of the Provost for additional winter semester: under discussion. Information will be posted to Senate web site or mailed to Senators ASAP.

IV. New Business
A. Caucus by Senate Committees to elect chairs postponed
until Senators indicate subcommittee preferences. Appointments based on preferences will be made by the Executive Committee by the February 2003 Senate meeting.

B. Caucus by Schools and Liberal Arts Groups to elect members of the Elections Committee
and the Committee on Committees. Results:

The University Committee on Committees
Chair, Ken Sufka
The Committee on Elections
Chair, Nancy Wiggers
Accountancy: Judith Cassidy
Applied Sciences: Charles West
Education: Michael Ponton
Engineering: Gregg Davidson
Law: Matthew Hall
Library: Michelle Emanuel
Liberal Arts I: Luca Bombelli
Liberal Arts II: Joseph Urgo
Liberal Arts III: Ken Sufka
Pharmacy: Steven Stodghill
Accountancy: Rick Elam
Applied Sciences: Edmund Acevedo
Education: Nancy Wiggers
Engineering: Dawn Wilkins
Law: Donna Adler
Library: Daisy Cheng
Liberal Arts I: Steven Davis
Liberal Arts II: Julie Aubrey
Liberal Arts III: Charles Ross
Pharmacy: John Schetz

Meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Back to Faculty Senate Homepage