[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Minutes of the Meeting of the Senate of the Faculty
February 12, 2004 4:30 PM, Turner Center, Room 205

Meeting called to order with a quorum at 4:35p.m.

Present: Edmund Acevedo, Robert Brown, John Bruce, Victoria Bush, Judith Cassidy, Daisy Cheng, Alice Cooper, Laurie Cozad, Conrad Cunningham, Gregg Davidson, Michelle Emanuel, Laurdella Foulkes-Levy, Garey Fox, Ray Fulton, Jamie Harker, Charles Ingene, Fred Laurenzo, Christopher McCurdy, Diane Marting, Rosemary Oliphant-Ingham, Elizabeth Payne, Michael Repka, Sidney Rowland, Bill Scott, Laura Sheppardson, Warren Steel, Joe Sumrall, Diane Tidwell, Joe Urgo, Randy Wadkins, Charles West, Nancy Wicker, Kristine Willett, Kathleen Wickham, John Winkle, Haidong Wu, Alexander Yakovlev

Absent: Milam Aiken*, Bahram Alidaee, Tristan Denley*, Rick Elam*, Kris Gilliland, Matthew Hall*, Greg Johnson*, Ivo Kamps*, Jennifer Mizenko, David Rock*, Mary Thurlkill

* Prior Notification

I. Old Business
Minutes of the January 15, 2004
Addition to the minutes: Senator Wadkins was present at the January meeting. Senator Scott called the question to accept the January minutes. Motion passed without dissent.

II. Dr. Eftink: Report on Online Course Evaluations

III. Scheduling of Senate Meeting Dates & Times

A. Proposed Dates: March 18 (March 11 is Spring Break); April 15 (April 8 is the Thursday before Easter); May 6 (May 13 is following Commencement)
Senator Steel made a motion to accept the changed dates.
Senator Davis seconded the motion.
Senator Winkle called the question. Motion passed.
Senator Davidson made a motion for a discussion on meeting times.
Senator Payne seconded the motion.
Chair Acevedo made the decision that meetings will be at 4:45 p.m. in the Thad Cochran Research Center 2063 for March, April and May.

IV. Announcements, Ed Acevedo

A. University Community Forum Update-Monday, February 23, 2004 6:30-8:00 pm

The Committee has made several decisions thus far about upcoming forums.

1. Questions will be posed by a student, faculty member, or staff member.
2. Moderator will serve as a moderator and time keeper
This will afford a greater opportunity for follow-up questions and greater attention to response time.
3. There will be more time for questions from the audience (45 min)

A letter to the editor to the Daily Mississippian has been submitted describing the upcoming University Community Forum with the following as signatories.
Faculty Senate Chair Ed Acevedo
Associated Student Body President Alan Bean
Graduate Student Council President John Bowling
Staff Council Chair Joni Camp

B. Background Checks https://www.olemiss.edu/depts/HR/hrinfo/bgroundpolicy.pdf

This issue was given to the Faculty Governance Committee for further study.

C. Provost's Quadrennial Review

This review is currently getting underway and is to be completed by the end of the spring semester. Notice was given by way of Daily Mississippian on Monday, February 9, 2004, asking that any comments be sent via email or campus mail to Chancellor Robert Khayat by March 10, 2004.

Senator Payne moved that the Academic Affairs committee be responsible for developing an assessment tool for the evaluation of the provost to be sent to all faculty. These evaluations will be returned before March 10, 2004, to the faculty senate where the information will be compiled and sent to Chancellor Khayat. Second by Senator Brown
Further clarification on the proposal specified that the Academic Affairs committee will be in charge of developing an appropriate hard-copy assessment tool for the evaluation of the provost to be sent to all faculty, to come back to the faculty senate to collate and to be compiled before March 10, 2004.

Motion passed without dissent.

D. The motion to extend the meeting was made by Senator Bruce.
Second by Senator Winkle.
Motion passed.

IV. New Business

A. Caucus by of the Senate Committees to elect chairs

Election Results
Academic Affairs-Bob Brown
Academic Support-Michelle Emmanuel
University Services-Laura Sheppardson
Finance-Rick Elam *tentative*
Faculty Governance-John Bruce

B. Honor code

The honor code was sent to the Academic Support committee for further study.

C. Housing Custodial Contracts

The Housing Custodial Contracts were sent to the University Services committee for further study.

Senator Cassdiy moved to adjourn the meeting
Senator Davidson seconded the motion.
Motion passed without dissent.
Meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.


C. Caucus by Schools and Liberal Arts Groups to elect members of the University Committee on Committees and the Committee on Elections. Results:

The University Committee on Committees
Chair, John Bruce
The Committee on Elections
Chair, Chris McCurdy
Accountancy: Rick Elam
Applied Sciences: Diane Tidwell
Business: Milam Aiken
Education: Sidney Rowland
Engineering: Conrad Cunningham
Law: Kris Gilliland
Library: Michelle Emanuael
Liberal Arts I: Mary Thurlkill
Liberal Arts II:
Liberal Arts III: John Bruce
Pharmacy: Michael Repka
Applied Sciences: Charles West
Business: Bahram Alidaee
Education: Ray Fulton

Law: Matthew Hall
Library: Daisy Cheng
Liberal Arts I: Laura Sheppardson
Liberal Arts II:
Liberal Arts III:
Pharmacy: Chris McCurdy

Meeting adjourned at 8:52 p.m.

Back to Faculty Senate Homepage