The University of Mississippi The School of Pharmacy Facebook Twitter Flickr Pinterest Pharmacy Matters

School honors three with distinguished alumni awards

Partners receive awards for helping diabetic patients

Strum becomes chair-elect of APhA-APRS section

Students participate in 'Operation Diabetes' initiative

College board recognizes professor's diversity efforts

Student shows talent in national competition

Scholarship celebrates quintessential Southern family's pharmacy

School to host its first Community Pharmacy Forum

Pharmacy Matters home


Strum becomes chair-elect of APhA-APRS section

Donna West-Strum

Donna West-Strum


onna West-Strum, chair of pharmacy administration, has been elected chair-elect of the Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences Section of the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS).

"I'm excited about the opportunity," West-Strum said. "This position will allow me to support the profession and to work with colleagues across the country. It also brings visibility to the School of Pharmacy here at Ole Miss. I am thankful to my family and colleagues for their support."

West-Strum assumed duties of the chair-elect position earlier this month, when she was installed at the 2013 APhA annual meeting in Los Angeles.

"This is exciting news for both Donna and the School of Pharmacy," said David D. Allen, the school's dean. "Donna's experience and expertise make her a perfect leader for the ESAS section. I congratulate her on this honor. We have many faculty holding leadership positions in the most visible professional pharmacy associations in the country, and we're delighted to see Donna has joined them."

Founded in 1852, APhA is the largest organization of pharmacists in the U.S. Depending on their research interests, members may choose to join one of three primary sections in APhA-APRS: Basic Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences. Elected leaders from each section serve on an executive council, which governs the association.

West-Strum's branch, the Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences section, incorporates members with interests in health-services research, policy and administration, especially those affecting pharmaceutical treatments and pharmaceutical care.

Through the association, members have the opportunity to network with people in their respective fields, along with those in other areas such as health care system representatives, educators and practitioners.

"As chair, I will be working with section members across the country to advocate for the profession, specifically in the provision of advanced pharmacy services in all practice settings, including accountable care organizations," West-Strum said. "It will be important that we provide evidence that pharmacists play a critical role in health care."

In addition to her involvement with APhA-APRS and serving as chair and associate professor of pharmacy administration, West-Strum (BSPh 95, MS 97, PhD 99) is a research associate professor in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Her research interests lie in the practice of community pharmacy and improving the quality of medication use. She has published more than 45 research articles and delivered 70 national presentations. She is also involved in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, the National Community Pharmacists Association and the Pharmacy Quality Alliance.

Visit us at, Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and Pinterest.