Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Frist Student Service Award

The University of Mississippi is seeking nominations of faculty and staff who deserve special recognition for rendering outstanding service to students.

Nominations accepted March 1 - April 6

Students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends have until 5 p.m., Thursday, April 6th to submit nominations for the 27th annual Thomas Frist Student Service Awards.

The award recognizes one faculty member and one staff member for going the extra mile in unwavering dedication and service to students. Examples of exemplary service include student guidance and mentorship above and beyond those expected of faculty and staff as part of their job responsibilities. Any full-time faculty or staff member, except previous winners, is eligible for the award, which includes a $1,000 prize and a plaque.

Nominations may be submitted using an online form. The nomination narrative should differentiate between obligation and service by citing specific examples in which the person being nominated has gone beyond the call of duty to help a student or group of students. Past nominations are also considered.

"The Frist Award is an outstanding opportunity to recognize individuals who embody the caring and supportive qualities that characterize the Ole Miss spirit. Many of our staff and faculty members frequently offer extra time and energy in support of our students, and we are grateful to have an occasion to celebrate their generosity, selflessness and kindness."

- Chancellor Glenn Boyce

All nominees are notified that they have been so honored, and a campus committee appointed by the chancellor chooses the two winners. Awards are to be presented at the university's spring Commencement.

Past winners of the Frist Award include current faculty members Michael Barnett, Kerri Scott, Robert Brown, Donald Dyer, Luca Bombelli, Denis Goulet, Aileen Ajootian, Ellen Meacham, Ken Sufka and David Wilson; and current staff members Ryan Upshaw, Cindy May, Carol Forsythe, Amy Saxton, Thelma Curry, Dewey Knight, Valeria Ross, Marc Showalter, Linda Spargo, and Patricia Treloar.

The Frist Student Service Awards were established with a $50,000 gift from the late Dr. Thomas F. Frist of Nashville, a 1930 UM graduate.