Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Faculty Profile

Angela Sykes Rutherford

Profile Photo
Teacher Education
Professor of Teaching Education, Director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instructon, and Region 7 Comprehensive Center Missssippi Coordinatior
vCard icon QR Code icon
(662) 915-7625
Joined UM: August 17, 2004

Brief Bio

Angela S. Rutherford is Associate Professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, as well as Director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instruction (CELI) and the Willie Price Lab School. Dr. Rutherford received her Ph.D. in Reading Education from Auburn University in 2003. She has extensive K-12 experience in Mississippi and Alabama where she taught reading and mathematics in many different grades. Dr. Rutherford taught at Mississippi University for Women prior to coming to Ole Miss in 2004. Dr. Rutherford teaches undergraduate reading education courses and graduate courses in the master's degree program in literacy education, as well as graduate courses in the elementary education. Dr. Rutherford secured two 5-year private foundation grants for $3 million within the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instruction (CELI). She also serves as director of the Willie Price Lab School on the UM campus. Dr. Rutherford is also involved in national professional organizations. She serves as an auditor for the Specialized Program Association (SPA) program review process for the International Reading Association. In addition, she serves as Co-Chair of the IRA's Professional Standards and Ethics Committee. At the state level, Dr. Rutherford serves on the Higher Education Literacy Committee, the Mississippi Department of Education's Literacy Task Force, the Mississippi PARCC Higher Education Leadership Team, and the Mississippi Reading Panel.


Elementary Education
University of Southern Mississippi (1988)
Educational Administration
University of Southern Mississippi (1993)
Auburn University Main Campus (2003)

Committee Memberships

Absence Policy Review Committee
Ad Hoc Committee
Dept of Curr & Inst - Grad Admissions
Other Kind of Committee


School of Education Outstanding Teacher of the Year