Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Faculty Profile

Charles D Mitchell

Profile Photo
Journalism Instruction
Associate Professor of Journalism
vCard icon QR Code icon
114 Farley, Journalism
University, MS 38677
(662) 915-8780
Joined UM: August 16, 2010

Brief Bio

Charlie Mitchell is assistant dean of the Meek School of Journalism and New Media and an assistant professor. He is a 1975 graduate of Mississippi State University with a bachelor's degree in communications and a 1986 graduate of The University of Mississippi School of Law with a juris doctorate. He worked for The Vicksburg Post from 1975 until 1983 as a reporter and photographer and then as managing and executive editor from 1986 until August 2010. He was on the journalism faculty at the University of Mississippi from 1984 until 1986. He is a past president of the Mississippi Press Association and is a past president of the Mississippi-Louisiana Associated Press Managing Editors Association. His weekly column, Conversation, has won state and regional awards and also appears in more than 20 newspapers statewide. He also won awards for his reporting from Iraq and in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. He is a member of the Mississippi Bar Association and is admitted to practice in state and federal courts.


Mississippi State University (1975)
The University of Mississippi (1986)

Committee Memberships

Academic Appeal - Journalism
Other Kind of Committee
Course Scheduling-School of Journalism
Other Kind of Committee
Executive Committee - Journalism
Other Kind of Committee
FA - Journalism Scholarship Committee
UG Application Selection Committee
University Standing Committee
Graduate Faculty - Journalism
Other Kind of Committee
Honors - Assessment & Evaluation
Task Force
Honors - Honors College Admissions Comm.
Task Force
Honors - Honors Task Force
Task Force
University Standing Committee
Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honor College
UG Application Selection Committee
School Graduation - Journalism
Other Kind of Committee
Tenure & Promotion - Journalism
Other Kind of Committee
Undergrad Curriculum & Assess-Journalism
Other Kind of Committee
University Standing Committee