Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Faculty Profile

Carey Blackerby Hanson

Profile Photo
Theatre & Film
Professor of Costume Design
vCard icon QR Code icon
110 Isom, Rm 102
University, MS 38677
(662) 915-6990
Joined UM: August 17, 2004

Brief Bio

Carey Hanson is a Professor of Costume Design at the University of Mississippi. Her costume experience has covered a wide range of theatre, dance, opera, musical theatre, and theatre for youth. Carey has worked professionally with The Santa Fe Opera, Utah Opera, Utah Festival Opera and Musical Theatre, Unicorn Children's Theatre, Sundance Summer Theatre, Old Lyric Repertory Company, Harper Joy Theatre, The Pink Garter Theatre, and Playmill Theatre-Jackson. Carey has worked professionally in the costume industry since 1991 and has been teaching costuming in higher education since 2000. Her most recent costume designs include Clybourne Park, Eurydice, The Seagull, Oedipus the King, Hair, And Then There Were None, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, and Six Characters in Search of an Author. She received recognition from the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival for her designs of Eurydice and Oedipus the King. Carey has been actively involved in the United States Institute for Theatre Technology for many years. She has served as the Vice Commissioner of Communication for the Costume Commission as well as a Director on the USITT Board of Directors


Utah State University (1994)
Utah State University (2000)
Utah State University (2000)

Committee Memberships

CLA Faculty Achievement Award Committee
Other Kind of Committee
University Standing Committee
University Standing Committee
Provost-Summer Cultural Programming
Ad Hoc Committee