Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Faculty Profile

David W Case

Law Instruction
Professor of Law and Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association Distinguished Lecturer
vCard icon QR Code icon
3011 Law School
University, MS 38677
(662) 915-6843
Joined UM: August 16, 2007

Brief Bio

David W. Case is a Professor of Law and Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association Distinguished Lecturer in Law. Dr. Case received his Ph.D. in Interdisciplinary Studies: Environmental Law, Management, and Policy from Vanderbilt University. He received his B.A. and J.D. from the University of Mississippi and his LL.M. from Columbia University. From 1998 to 2001, Dr. Case was a Bridgestone Americas Fellow in Environmental Management at Vanderbilt University and a Senior Research Associate with the Vanderbilt Center for Environmental Management Studies. Prior to joining the faculty at Ole Miss in 2007, Dr. Case spent six years as an Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Memphis. Prior to entering academia, Dr. Case practiced law for seven years with the law firm of Ott & Purdy in Jackson, Mississippi. In 1993, he was also a trial and appellate attorney in the United States Department of Justice in Washington, D.C. (Civil Division, Commercial Litigation Branch). Dr. Case is a former federal judicial clerk for the Honorable Rhesa H. Barksdale of the United States Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals. Dr. Case teaches Environmental Law, Administrative Law, Contracts, Property, and Civil Procedure and has published numerous articles in the areas of environmental law and management.


The University of Mississippi (1985)
The University of Mississippi (1988)
Columbia University-New York City (1993)
Vanderbilt University (2004)

Committee Memberships

University Standing Committee