Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Faculty Profile

Donald L Dyer

Profile Photo
College of Liberal Arts
Associate Dean for Faculty & Academic Affairs and Distinguished Professor of Modern Languages
vCard icon QR Code icon
Ventress 204
University, MS 38677
(662) 915-7178
Joined UM: August 16, 1988

Areas of Expertise


Brief Bio

Donald L. Dyer is Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs in the College of Liberal Arts and Distinguished Professor of Russian and Linguistics in the Department of Modern Languages at the University of Mississippi, where he has been teaching for the past 30 years. He was Chair of the Department of Modern Languages from 2005 to 2016. Dr. Dyer obtained his B.A. in Russian (with Honors) from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1980 and his M.A. (1982) and Ph.D. (1990) in Slavic Linguistics from the University of Chicago. Dr. Dyer has taught courses in Russian, Linguistics and Honors. His research interests include Slavic and Balkan linguistics, Bulgarian and the Romanian of Moldova, as well as languages in contact. He has authored or edited over thirty books or volumes and over forty journal articles. His books include Word Order in the Simple Bulgarian Sentence: A Study in Grammar, Semantics and Pragmatics (1992), The Romanian Dialect of Moldova: A Study in Language and Politics (1999), Of All the Slavs My Favorites: Studies in South Slavic and Balkan Linguistics in Honor of Howard I. Aronson on the Occasion of His 66th Birthday [co-editor with Victor A. Friedman] (2002) and The Bill Question: Contributions to the Study of Linguistics and Languages in Honor of Bill J. Darden on the Occasion of His Sixty-Sixth Birthday [co-editor with Howard I. Aronson, Victor A. Friedman, Daniela S. Hristova and Jerrold M. Sadock] (2006). In 2014, he was recognized for his work as the 17th Kenneth E. Naylor Memorial Lecturer in South Slavic and Balkan Linguistics. Dr. Dyer is currently editor of the journal Balkanistica and co-editor of Romance Monographs. He also serves as co-director of the University of Mississippi's Chinese Language Flagship Program. His service activities on campus include membership on the University's Strategic Planning Council and the Committee on Internationalization as well as in its chapters of Phi Beta Kappa and Phi Kappa Phi. In 1992, he received the Liberal Arts Outstanding Professor of the Year in recognition of his teaching. In 2004, he received the Mississippi Humanities Council's Humanities Teacher of the Year at the University of Mississippi; in 2011, he received the UM Nolan E. Shepard International Service Award; and in 2017, he received the UM Thomas F. Frist, Sr. Student Service Award. In 2018, he was named one of UM's inaugural Distinguished Professors.


University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill (1980)
Slavic Languages
University of Chicago (1982)
Slavic Languages
University of Chicago (1990)

Committee Memberships

Arabic Lang Prog - Summer Intensive
UG Application Selection Committee
CETL - Keep Teaching and Learning
Ad Hoc Committee
CLA Teaching Award Committee
Task Force
CLA Tenure & Promotion Advisory Comm.
Other Kind of Committee
CLA-Instruct. Faculty Promotion Advisory
Ad Hoc Committee
CLA-Interdisciplinary Programs
Ad Hoc Committee
University Standing Committee
Chinese Language Flagship Program
UG Application Selection Committee
Completion and Student Success (CASS)
Other Kind of Committee
DWR-Digital Media Studies
Ad Hoc Committee
Modern Languages - Arabic Committee
UG Application Selection Committee
University Standing Committee
VCRSP-Rebel Resrch Scholars Advisory Bd
Ad Hoc Committee


College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year
University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year
Frist Service Award
The Distinguished Professor Award